Narcissim in Church Leadership

Blog Forums Deconstruction Spiritual Abuse Narcissim in Church Leadership

This topic contains 15 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  David Hayward 1 year, 4 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of
    Anonymous

This is my first post here. Some of you know me from my blog. I’ve been lurking around TLS for a few weeks and enjoying getting to know you all and your precious (and often sad, powerful, and inspiring) stories.

Instead of introducing myself properly, I thought I’d just jump in with a post about narcissism in church leadership. I think a lot about narcissism in general and narcissism in church contexts in particular. Partly because I’m a therapist, but much more because I’ve been impacted profoundly by other people’s narcissism, from a parent to a former pastor to more than one ex-boyfriend. (Surely there are other therapists here, too? TLS is the kind of place we flock to like fruit flies to leftover wine).

Here’s what Narcissism looks like, according to the DSM (which, as you may have heard, has been revised, but it’s still basically this):

A pervasive pattern of grandiosity (in fantasy or behavior), need for admiration, and lack of empathy, beginning by early adulthood and present in a variety of contexts, as indicated by five (or more) of the following:

1. Has a grandiose sense of self-importance (e.g., exaggerates achievements and talents, expects to be recognized as superior without commensurate achievements).

2. Is preoccupied with fantasies of unlimited success, power, brilliance, beauty, or ideal love.

3. Believes that he or she is “special” and unique and can only be understood by, or should associate with, other special or high- status people (or institutions).

4. Requires excessive admiration.

5. Has a sense of entitlement, i.e., unreasonable expectations of especially favorable treatment or automatic compliance with his or her expectations.