Relationship Decisions during Deconstruction

Blog Forums Reconstruction Sexuality & Relationships Relationship Decisions during Deconstruction

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of KellieM78 KellieM78 4 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Kelley
    Kelley
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I’m relatively new to TLS and although this is my first post, I’ve really enjoyed being a part of this community so far. None of our struggles are identical, but you all help me feel like I’m not alone. I’d like to share about my main struggle right now, which involves making serious life decisions during deconstruction.

After growing up in a moderately religious Presbyterian home, I became deeply involved with a ‘modern’ evangelical church during my college years. Toward the end of this time, a close Muslim friend and I realized we were not in fact just close friends but were deeply in love. There’s volumes I could write about those last two sentences, but eventually/essentially this friend and I ended up in a relationship and my eyes began to open to equally valid worldviews outside of the box that I was in with my capital T evangelical Truth. Before this, I thought I had considered other worldviews, but in reality I had only looked at them through my own Christian lens; through our intimate relationship, I was able take off my Christian lens and slip on his glasses…seeing the world through someone else’s eyes more than I ever had before. My deconstruction process began.