An Unconventional Believer

Blog Forums Introductions Meet & Greet An Unconventional Believer

This topic contains 10 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of  Anonymous 1 year, 11 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Peter Stanley
    Peter Stanley
    Participant

I am now 77 and although I cannot remember ever doubting the existence of God I have been questioning the teachings of the Christian RELIGION for more than 60 years, and lived ‘outside the walls’ of ‘traditional’ Christianity for some 40 years. An old friend once said, ‘Peter you have the knack of asking the awkward questions to which there are no easy answers’. I have far more empathy with many agnostics, and even some atheists, than I do with those Christians who think they have all the answers.

I was treasurer of an Anglican Parish for 8 years in the 1960’s but became disillusioned at the lack of ‘radical’ Christianity, and years later spent some 20 years as a member of a Sabbath-keeping church that announced in 1995 that much of its theology was misguided. I have not had any formal theological training but I was forced to reconsider just about everything I had ever been taught. It took a long time (although I was no longer employed), but I have a clear recollection in 1998 of recognising a freedom and liberation from the slavery of legalism. By this time I was already using the internet (with dial up connections) but it wasn’t until 2003 that I really began to link up with what was then being referred to as the out of church Christians.

As I look back now two things in particular stick out:
    1. I have learned so much over the last ten years or so about why people believe what they believe, often as a result of divisive, denominational theology.