Do you hang out with other pastors?

Blog Forums Deconstruction Ex-pastors & Leaders Do you hang out with other pastors?

This topic contains 15 replies, has 12 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of RevOxley RevOxley 1 year, 7 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author

David Hayward
    Keymaster

Does anyone here hang out with other pastors? I used to all the time when I was in ministry. When I left I was dropped like a hot-potato. I have a good friend who used to be my assistant pastor. We still hang out. But that’s it. What about you?

• This topic was modified 1 year, 11 months ago by  David Hayward.
    Profile photo of Jeff
    Jeff
    Participant

Hanging out with pastors is tricky business. As a pastor I was critical of people who chose not to go all in on the church thing. I have found hanging with Christians/pastors fairly uncomfortable. “It’s not you, it’s me.”

I stay loosely connected with a friend from undergrad who continues planting churches in a neighboring state. Another buddy–from the life I used to live–is a missionary. We see them about once every 2 years. In short, no. I don’t hang out with pastors. Generally, there seems to be a fairly large gap between the church haves and have nots.

David Hayward
    Keymaster

yes jeff… i know all about that “gap”.

Profile photo of
    Anonymous