Swallowing a Gratitude Pill

Blog Forums Deconstruction Ex-pastors & Leaders Swallowing a Gratitude Pill

This topic contains 12 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of  Anonymous 1 year, 11 months ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

StarryNight
    Participant

I’ve shared my story here before, so I won’t share my background in too much detail. Suffice it to say that when I was fired by the Sr. Pastor after 12 years as an associate pastor I was very hurt. It was done without cause, blamed finances, and said nothing to the church of over 2000 people. The rest of the staff, including my brother, didn’t stand up for me, possibly scared of the consequences if they would have. If there were good reasons for letting me go, they never shared them with me, in fact they asked me to write a letter of resignation making it look like it was my idea to leave.

Being fired honestly was one of the best things that has happened to my wife and I as it pushed us out of the institutional box and we found that God existed outside our man-made temples. We haven’t looked back and so love the freedom we are experiencing.

That being said there are still some hardships, mostly around relationships. The pastor that fired me has been in a transition of handing over his role to my brother. When it came to the actual changing of titles it brought up a lot of emotions in me. I realized that I had expectations that the pastor would look back over his shoulder and see the carnage that pursuing his vision had caused. I thought this would be a part of him desiring to finish well. Well… it didn’t happen, and I had to let go of those expectations all over again.

Forgiveness is a process, I think, just like healing. Though I would like restoration (to the man, not the job), it may never happen. What I really need is freedom.