What is calling?

Blog Forums Deconstruction The Church What is calling?

This topic contains 6 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Schroedingers-Cat Schroedingers-Cat 1 year, 6 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Schroedingers-Cat
    Schroedingers-Cat
    Participant

OK, there is a theoretical discussion here, but this is also a very practical, personal issue.

I have a degree in theology – which, incidentally, makes me the most theologically qualified person in most churches, including the clergy – and training as a reader, implying acceptance by the CofE as a person who is suitable for ministry. I would suggest that this implies that I am not naively self-deluded, at least no more than anyone else.

I find a church that I feel is an appropriate place to be, I get involved, I find that i fit in. And yet the vicar tells me that he does not think that exercising my ministry there is part of my calling.

So why does he know what God is calling me to better than I do? OK, he is the vicar and I am not, but then what does that mean? He kept the appropriate people happy?

There is some part of me that thinks that the whole concept of “calling” is utterly wrong, that we are all called by God in very much the same way – to serve him and express his presence in the situations we are in. Or that calling is just a meaningless phrase to give a pseudo-divine backing to rejection or authority.

And yet the problem comes that without this sense of calling, many clergy have no justification for their position at all. They are simply doing a job, and have no sense of divine right to do it.

But does calling mean anything? If not, what should the allocation of work and ministry be done by? Choice of the minister? Personal decision?

Profile photo of SavageSoto
    SavageSoto
    Participant